So You Want to Change Majors?

As a Sophomore in College I decided to make a life altering decision and change my major. This was a very serious decision for me because I have wanted to become an Architect since I was very young and I hate being a  quitter.

To understand what I was dealing with, my Freshman Architecture class had about 80 students in it; starting my Sophomore year we had 27 including 2 new transfer students. I became unbelievably close to my 26 colleagues and we spent time together in and out of our studio.

Needless to say, it was a tough decision to leave the people I have gotten to know so well to not only switch majors but switch colleges.

How did I know it was time for a change?

This past summer I was so excited to get back to school and start on projects but after the first two weeks of class I knew I could not do it anymore. I became uninterested in the courses I was taking and was only doing the assignments to “make the grade”. I spent more time staring at the paper than drawing on it; I didn’t enjoy the projects that were being given to me. I started to wonder if this was the path I really wanted to take and if I would be happy doing this kind of work in 20 years.

How did I decide what to switch my Major to?

I looked through my University’s Major Catalogue and wrote down a list of Majors that seemed interesting. From there I read all of the descriptions and narrowed it down even more. At this point I was left with two, very different, majors. I took about a week to think about which major I would choose. After this I told my parents my decision and they talked to me about my options. Together we came to the conclusion that Business-Marketing was the right choice for me!

How did I tell people and in what order?

First, I told my roommates. These two ladies are two of my closest friends. One of them had recently changed her major so she was very open to the idea and supported me right off the bat. The other was a little more concerned because she knew the passion I have had for Architecture for the past year and a half, but she was still supportive. Eventually she came to realize I was making the right choice for me. Next, I told my best friend from home. I explained the full situation to her and she was very excited that I was making a change because she knew what I had been going through all semester. After her, I told my parents. I was nervous to tell them because my plan had always been to become an Architect but they were very accepting of the idea. They realized that I had been thinking about changing majors for a while because I had gone into so much detail about what I was thinking about switching to and why I wanted to do it. We talked about my two options and they helped me to see pro’s and con’s of each major. Lastly, I told my classmates. This was the group of people I was most nervous to tell. On the last day of class my Architecture friends and I were talking about classes for next semester and I casually mentioned that I was glad I wouldn’t be attending one of their “major specific” classes. They were slightly surprised but supportive because they wanted me to be successful and happy. From there, the news spread through out my studio and in a couple days most of them had heard the news.

What are my plans for the future?

Honestly? I’m not sure. I plan to stick with my current Major and possibly get a Minor in who knows what. I’ll probably get an MBA because I know those are useful when getting careers and I would like to be as successful as possible. I hope to become more involved in my sorority and make many more friends. I plan to spend nights studying and drinking coffee, but also having fun with my friends. I am really looking forward to seeing how this new experience will cause me to grow!

We shall see what the future brings!

Kisses,

Screen Shot 2016-01-09 at 2.43.58 PM

