New Year, New Me, Am I Right?

Hey ya’ll!

So because 2016 is quickly approaching I’ve decided to blog about my New Years Resolutions. In the past I have never actually kept my resolutions so hopefully this year I will. It’s just so hard to do, you know?

So, here it goes, my 2016 list to live by:

Resolution 1: Start saying ‘yes’ more often. I want to become more adventurous and start doing things outside of my comfort zone. I’ve been known to spend weekends in bed watching netflix but hopefully this routine will be broken in 2016. I am 20 years old and I need to start experiencing more and meeting more people. This is definitely going to be a tough one because who doesn’t enjoy sleeping all the time and binge watching [insert current drama series here]? But as the old saying goes, YOLO.

Resolution 2: Lean how to play the guitar. This is something that I have been wanting to do for a very long time but have always found a reason not to.Growing up, my dad played guitar and sang in his spare; he even brought his guitar on vacation a couple of times. I’ve tried getting him to teach me but it just never seems to work out, so this time I’m going to take it into my own hands. I’m lucky that he owns multiple guitars so hopefully I will be able to steal one and bring it to Baton Rouge with me this semester. With the help of youtube and one of my friends who recently taught herself how to play guitar I will be able to start this new hobby.

Resolution 3: Drink less Starbucks. I love frappuccinos more than a lot of things but lets be honest, the sugar content in those things is ridiculous. In previous semesters I’ve had classes in the same building as one of the on campus Starbucks; needless to say I’ve gone to Starbucks multiple times a week (sometimes even multiple times a day), and the barista’s knew exactly what I was coming for. So, sadly I’ve decided this is a habit that needs to be broken. It will be hard but it will make my body and my wallet a whole lot healthier.

Resolution 4: Focus on school and get a 4.0. I am very excited and #blessed that I have the chance to start a new chapter in my college career. With this comes the hope that I will be able to pull up my GPA because lets be honest, thats pretty important when it comes to getting hired in the future. A 4.0 is a goal that I believe every student should strive for and I know that if I really try I will be able to achieve this goal.

Resolution 5: Go to the UREC on campus. I have lived near the UREC for the last year and a half and have yet to step foot in the building. Sure, I’ve gone running around Sorority Row a handful of times but that doesn’t make up for the fact that I have a free facility to work out in that I have not used yet. This is going to be a constant fight that hopefully I will be able to win. With breaking the netflix habit comes the need to fill that time in with something and hopefully that something will be some sort of work out.

 

Now, let’s be honest, I probably won’t be sticking to this list but at least I made it and have published it on the internet for all to see. Maybe that will force me to at least try to follow it.

Fingers crossed that this list actually happens and I’ll be an adventurous, fit, guitar playing, 4.0 GPA woman come 2017!

Kisses!

Screen Shot 2016-01-09 at 2.43.58 PM

One comment

  1. Lauren · January 9, 2016

    Really awesome! Loved this! Hope you stick to your resolutions. You’ve inspired me to stick to my own resolutions!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

