Fall Faves, Life Update, and Recipe

Happy Fall ya’ll!

I woke up one morning last week much happier than usual and as I was riding to school I then realized it was the first day of Fall! I honestly think my body just knew that it was fall and sent some serotonin my way because this is such a wonderful day to be blogging; even if its still summer weather here in Louisiana.

The season of pumpkin spice and salted caramel mocha at Starbucks and sweaters and jeans galore as well as Saturday nights in Death Valley; this is definitely the most glorious season of all. There are so many things that I want to do this Fall from going to a corn maze and a haunted house to baking cookies and making cinnamon-sugar pecans (literally most delicious snack ever).From being so busy this summer I know I haven’t posted much but since school is in full swing and I have gotten my first set of test out the way it is back to blogging for me!

So let’s talk about what’s been going on with my life. Over the summer I pretty much worked and spent some quality time with the BF. We spent a lot of time at the lake front in Mandeville laying on a blanket watching the sunset and the waves as well as tossing the football with his brother.

I came up to Baton Rouge 2 weeks before classes started for sorority recruitment. Then the historic flood of Baton Rouge happened so I went home to Metairie for a few days as wells visited the BF and went to his Mother Son Brunch for the football team he coaches. School started and our postponed recruitment started not long after. We finally had Bid Day and things have started to go back to normal. I am so happy to finally be back into the flow of life and school.

Since fall is upon us I wanted to share a few of my favorite fall items. I absolutely love fall and winter attire because its so cute and cozy but sadly, here in Louisiana it is t shirt weather almost entirely year round. I remember last year in December and January one day I would be wearing leggings and a t-shirt or tank to class and then next day I would walk outside and be freezing and have to go back for a sweatshirt. With that being said I definitely had to get used to checking the weather on my phone every morning to decide which extreme to dress for.

One of my favorites that I have loved since high school is pumpkin pancakes. My mom has never been one to wake up early and cook breakfast for us but for some reason my senior year of high school she would wake up almost every morning during the fall and make me a batch of pumpkin pancakes and I would literally devour them. I would eat the for breakfast, bring one of two to school for snack, and eat them as my after school snack too, hence why she had to wake up every morning! There just something about these that screams fall and just all around happiness to me. Plus they are healthy and easy to make which is super awesome in my opinion! At the end of this post I will add the recipe as well as a link to the website where the recipe is originally from!

Another of my fall favorites is scarfs. Always there to spice up a simple outfit and keep your neck warm scarves are definitely one of my favorite things. My personal favorite scarf is a leopard print infinity scarf that I have. It looks perfect paired with  jeggings, riding boots, and a monotone top. Another perk of scarves is that they are multifunctional; you can put your hands in them to keep them warm, you can put it under your head if you need a little nap, and some scarves you can even use as a blanket if you’re feeling a little cold or need a picnic blanket. All around, I think scarves are definitely a fall essential and when paired right, can be a super cute accessory.

My final fall favorite would probably have to be cardigans. Sometimes people say cardigans look like something a 90 year old grandma or a librarian would wear, I on the other hand, love cardigans. They’re not too heavy for the Louisiana-Fall heat, they can be worn open to reveal whatever cute top you’re wearing underneath, they dress up a outfit but don’t necessarily have to dress up because they can also be worn down. All around, cardigans are comfy and give you a fall feel without sweating your butt of while walking to class everyday. Also, they come in an enormous assortment of colors, prints, and materials and a large range of prices depending on how nice of a cardigan you want. Personally, because I wear mine to class, I prefer to get a cheaper one so I don’t have to worry about keeping it nice going to and from school and other events. Cardigans are seriously the best and if you don’t own at least 1 then I don’t know what you’ve been doing with your life.

Pumpkin Pancakes (recipe from Practical Paleo):
4 eggs

  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons butter of coconut oil (plus extra for pan frying)

Whisk the eggs, canned pumpkin, pure vanilla extract, and pure maple syrup together. Sift the pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, and baking soda into the wet ingredients.

Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in a large skillet over medium heat. The mmix the butter into the batter. Grease the skillet and spoon the batter into the skillet to make pancakes of your desired size. When a few bubbles appear, flip the pancakes once to finish cooking.

Take off heat and enjoy your taste of fall!

These pancakes would probably be super good with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream if you want something a little different as a desert!

 

Happy Fall!

XXOO

Screen Shot 2016-01-09 at 2.43.58 PM

 

